Eat Right, Judge Less, Love More



this might make you wanna vom

Laying on the grass in the evening shadows of a towering palm, he spoke the words I had been aching to hear directly into my ear with a whisper that seemed to say, ‘these words are just for you… don’t let them go.’ We have since returned to the cold reality of home, work, school, and the like, but I’m learning love has a way of warming you from the inside out. 🙂

Although we only exchanged I love you’s recently, I have  been slowly falling in love with him for the entire time we’ve been dating, with a few specific traits of his that I particularly love.  For one thing, he has found two subjects for which he is incredibly passionate – photography and animals.  Watching his face light up when he recounts, via photographs,  his travels to everywhere from the San Diego Zoo to India and New Zealand, I can’t help but share in his excitement.  Stacks of photo albums are brimming with photos of all sorts of mammals, and he never tires of sharing them with me.  I suppose this is common, but I have always found passion for life to be far sexier than the traditional six pack/square jaw definition of sexy.
Also, he is habitually considerate.  At more cynical moments in my life, I have scoffed at men opening car doors and such, but in reality, it is a pleasure.  Aside from the fact a date feels more special when a man goes out of his way to extend a chivalrous hand, his behavior speaks volumes about the way he was raised, to act with class and respect.  I can never imagine fighting with him – honestly – because he has always been more concerned with me than with asserting his righteousness.
I feel fortunate to be able to say that I could go on and on; he’s boyishly handsome, he appreciates travel, he’s incredibly bright, etc etc.  But I think one trait in particular – one that we happen to share – has recently contributed a great deal to the growth and development of our relationship: We both have a well developed love for good food. As such, we have already spent many hours in the kitchen, talking over a smorgasbord of leftovers or he hugging me from behind while I put the finishing touches on dinner.  It is so much fun to cook for someone who loves to eat, and so meal planning and cooking have been a blast.  As such, I’ve decided to start keeping track of the new things I make, as long as they get good reviews from me and my sweetie 🙂
Parmesan Garlic Bread

Ciabatta Bread, in 6 1″ slices
3T Butter
2T minced garlic
very generous pinch of parmesan shreds

Melt butter with garlic and parmesan over medium heat until uniform and starting to bubble.
spoon/pour over ciabatta slices (on a cookie sheet) and bake at 350 degrees until edges begin to brown.  This would probably be great in the broiler too.

Swiss Omelet with Thyme

3 Eggs
2T fresh thyme (stems discarded)
1/3C Jarlsberg Swiss, finely grated
salt and pepper to taste

Spray a small frying pan with Pam/olive oil.  In a small bowl, whisk 1 whole egg and two egg whites with thyme, swiss, and salt and pepper.  Mixture may be slightly lumpy.  Cook until nearly firm, and turning once, cooking for another 30 seconds or so.  Serve on toasted english muffin.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * annanaqu says:

    I think it’s lovely, and sweet,… and all those warm and fuzzy things we WANT our life to be.
    😀

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  2. * annanaqu says:

    Oh.. its about FREAKING TIME!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

