Eat Right, Judge Less, Love More



January 2. The beginning of the year is our first chance to take a breath and survey life after the beautiful mess of thanksgiving and finals and christmas and the coming of the new year has passed. Traditionally, this is also the time when our plans for the upcoming year are excitedly set in motion, perhaps based on shortcomings of the previous year: starting a diet, improving relationships, and many other self-improvement goals all seem easier to follow with the momentum of an unmarked calendar upon us.

This past year was full of wonderful changes: I ended a dysfunctional relationship, started to blog, continued to dedicate myself to my studies, took up running, solidified my most meaningful friendships, and met someone wonderful who bears a striking resemblance to the man of my dreams (could it be him? we’ll see!) Nonetheless, I can also see much room for improvement.  First and foremost, I want to make better use of my time.  I’m annoyed by the amount of time I spend idly perusing the internet, while simultaneously complaining I don’t have enough time to exercise or write.  I hope 2009 is a fitter, more prolific year (even if it is at the expense of not knowing what blogger A & B ate for dinner last night… pity).

I also want to be more organized.  I can see the way my mess impacts my state of mind, especially during stressful times at school.  I look around at my bedroom with clothes all over and notebooks strewn here and there, and I have a hard time focusing my mind on whatever task is at hand.

Finally, I want to eat better.  Considering my nutrition education, my job, and my health-conscious friends, this should be a NO-BRAINER.  But somehow, I have many days where not a single vegetable makes its way onto my plate, and I subsist largely on carbs and fat. If I want to be stronger and more active, though, I need to get my eating in line.

I think all these resolutions can be categorized under a general goal:  I want to live a life I can be proud of.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * annanaqu says:

    Love your last line!! I hope we can all.. FOREVER “live a life we are proud of”

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 3 months ago


Leave a Reply

