Eat Right, Judge Less, Love More



FACT: you can’t eat vegetables you don’t have.

ANNE-SPECIFIC FACT: even if you have vegetables, you probably won’t eat them unless you make it as easy as humanly possible.

based on these two very excellent points, I decided to take advantage of my evening off and pop into Whole Foods for a big veggie shop so I could roast some vegetables for the next few days.  I realized I’m just not motivated enough in the morning to prepare vegetables for the day, especially when I’m in any kind of rush.   For some reason, I really like sweet/carby things in the morning – fruit, cereal, oatmeal, and the like – so when I’m putting my lunch together, I tend to pack things like peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, oatmeal, clif bars, and fruit rather than more savory meals…  So, in an attempt to rectify the situation, I’m focusing on being prepared these next few days with VEGGIES.

No pic of my rainbow of goodies, because my mind was 110% focused on eating when I got home! But I did snap a pic of one sheet (out of three!) of veggies roasting away in the oven… mmmmm.

Dinner was about a cup of veggies (a mix of sweet onion, tomato, red/green/yellow/orange pepper, eggplant and yellow squash) topped with “pasta” (spaghetti squash), two homemade turkey meatballs, tomato sauce and parmesan (you know, the Kraft kind that can live in your fridge for, what, a year?).  It was completely inspired by some recent blog entries I’ve seen, and quite delicious!

So, on a completely different note, I was out with some friends recently and somehow the conversation turned to working out and what music we listen to when we run/walk/spin, etc.  My friend threw me for a complete loop and said he LOVES listening to Phil Collins!! WTF?! No offense to Phil, but I assumed most people would go for something upbeat!  My iPod has a playlist called “Run” with stuff like Green Day, Katy Perry, Ok Go, DJ Tiesto, All American Rejects… random stuff I don’t really listen to day-to-day, but that really energizes me when I’m running.  What kind of music do you listen to when you workout?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * annanaqu says:

    So I have hope for our obesity rate now that Obama has won. There’s a chance that eating healthy and being conscious of what’s good for our body will catch on … just like the need to change in America. I feel like we’ve had the conversation about how we would def make sure our kids were eating healthy but it was middle america that would be a problem… just like the election but with Obama’s clear win… HOPE is definitely in the air

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * annanaqu says:

    oopse.. i commented to the wrong post… ;P

    Anyways… I’m cutting back on sweets.. yesterday i had a lunch meeting at work and i skipped the whole brownie and cookie tray that sat right in front of me for a full 30minutes.. i almost forgot how hard it is to have some willpower when it comes to dessert…. (I guess that shows how much willpower i’ve been using huh?)

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

