Eat Right, Judge Less, Love More



Beautiful day!

I love this time of year. It’s so transient, that time when the leaves are changing, and the air is that perfect temperature, and hot cocoa starts to feel right again… it just makes me want to take advantage of every bit of it before it’s gone.

In light of my relative freedom (tests done! no school tomorrow!) I decided to treat myself to an outdoor run to soak up a little sun and crisp fall air 🙂 According to google pedometer, two laps around the center of campus was just over 3 miles. Perfect! I was so tired from my week, and my iPod died, but I just couldn’t not go.

I Googled around for some pictures (I’m ITCHIN to take some of my own, I just couldn’t make it happen this week) to give y’all a sense of the scenery… I know for most people it’s probably no big deal, but after four years at a state school that left much to be desired as far as visual appeal, I’ve learned to appreciate a little scenery now and then.  Working on my master’s degree here, at a campus that used to be a private estate (it belonged to Marjorie Post, the daughter of the Post cereal guy!) has been like a feast for my eyeballs!


As an aside, it’s been so interesting taking a community nutrition class here, surrounded by the remnants of great wealth.  We’re going to be spending the semester learning about the nutrition issues plaguing the poor, the uninsured, the elderly, etc… basically, the focus of the class is on how to improve the nutrition status of individuals and communities that can’t afford or don’t otherwise have access to the things they need for optimal nutrition and health.  Now, imagine the frameshift when you walk out of that classroom to see rolling lawns, tudors… I like to think I have a little perspective on life, but I still have a hard time wrapping my mind around what it must be like to experience food insecurity, or to go through life without health insurance… I mean, to think that there are some people in the world with enough property on their estate that it can be converted to a college campus, and then some people who can’t afford vegetables, and that they live within a few minutes’ drive of each other… it just blows my mind.  

Sorry foodies, no food chatter today!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Christie says:

    HI Anne!!! Hav a good weekend!!

    | Reply Posted 9 years, 1 month ago


Leave a Reply

