Eat Right, Judge Less, Love More



back in the groove.

So, two more tests out of the way today! I’ve taken four exams in the past week, so obviously it’s been a little hectic, but I’ve walked out of each exam feeling pretty good.  In my undergrad years, I never really knew how to study, and my GPA suffered for it.  I don’t really know what suddenly clicked when I started my BS/MS in Nutrition – maybe the fact I finally really loved (love!) the subject – but whatever it was, it’s nice to finally be in a routine as far as studying goes, and to know that if I just put in the time, it will pay off.

Anyways, I was so so soooo excited to get out of school and make a Whole Foods run… Yesterday’s frustration seemed to give way to a bit of inspiration today, and I kept jotting down notes in my day planner about what I should make for dinner/buy for the week.  I was thinking yogurt sauce, “crispy around the edges” oven roasted vegetables, and tofu… but how? 

And then, I found this…

 It’s got cumin, coriander, fennel, turmeric, garlic, and “other spices,” as well as… a recipe!!! …Which I didn’t follow, so I won’t write it all out, but it ended with “five minutes before done, stir in coconut milk/yogurt.” aha!

So here’s what I did….

On a cookie sheet, arrange sliced zucchini, yellow squash, cippolini onions, halved mini (grape?) tomatoes, carrots, thin sliced tofu, and an entire bulb of garlic with the top lobbed off.  

Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and curry blend.

Roast at 375 for 25 minutes (I turned on the convection oven, though, so it might take longer in a regular oven)

While the veggies and tofu were a’roasting, I prepared some rice noodles according to package directions.

in a frying pan, I heated some vegetable stock (just enough to cover the bottom of the pan) and whisked in 2T tomato paste, about a tablespoon of the curry blend, and a little bit (maybe 2 tsp each) of olive oil and soy sauce.  I let that go a bit on low heat, until it reduced and got a little thicker, maybe 6-8 minutes. 

When the veggies were done, I tossed them in the pan with the curry/tomato sauce and gave a quick stir to coat, and then added two heaping spoonfuls of chobani honey yogurt.  stir to combine/heat through, and then pour over pasta and serve.

I cannot express how delicious this was… I wish I had smell-o-vision or something, to share the multi-sensory experience I had going on in my kitchen!  Creamy/smoky/tangy/sweet, plus how can you go wrong with all those veggies?! I estimated this to be around 325 calories, but the only thing I measured was the rice noodles, so I’m not entirely sure.  Anyway, it goes without saying this was FAR superior to any of my eats for the past few days!

And to top it all off, I got my kashi free cookie in the mail today! 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * VeggieGirl says:

    Hooray for getting those exams out of the way, and for a veggie-ful dinner! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

