Eat Right, Judge Less, Love More


« New stuff! | Home | quickie »

Rainy Day = Soup!

So today’s eats (a reflection of my day in general) have been a bit haphazard.  I ate breakfast (Kashi U, banana, 1% milk, strawberries) in a complete haze, exhausted from my great night out with the girls and just trying to get some fuel in me before heading out in the rain to work at JC.  I was so excited to hear we got some new products in stock for October, especially the JC pumpkin spice cake (170 cal) that I’ve been looking forward to trying for MONTHS.  I must say, it didn’t disappoint 🙂  I also had a Chobani (140 cal) with some JC trail mix (120 cal, minus the 8 almonds I picked out), and a small JC turkey burger (280 cal), all of which I ate while standing up, too quickly for me to really enjoy since I had a pretty constant stream of clients from 9:00 to 12:30. 

The star of the show for today, though, was definitely the soup I made for dinner when I got home… I was trying to find a way to use a bunch of green onions I bought, and to finish some pre-cooked frozen shrimp.  I locked eyes with a box of thai rice noodles I bought a while back, and dinner was born.  

I forgot to take a picture, but I will DEFINITELY be making this again, maybe with tofu, so a picture is on its way.  Here’s the basic gist:

1) bring 1C broth (20cal) + 1C water to a boil
2) stir/wisk in 1T peanut butter (95 cal)
3) add 2oz rice noodles (180 cal), 2 sliced green onions (white/light green parts only) and 3 oz shrimp (unthawed) (80 cal)

remove from heat and cover; let sit 8-10 minutes or until noodles are tender.   Salt to taste.

~375 calories, makes a very generous portion.

 

I’m in a ridiculously munchy mood so I’m gonna try to lose myself in some organic chemistry and get my mind off food for a bit.  Here’s hoping!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * annanaqu says:

    All the pics really make your blog ‘professional’ looking… and me kinda hungry

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

