Eat Right, Judge Less, Love More



Blogging has become so difficult lately.

Sometimes I worry that I’m losing steam when it comes to writing.  But, I realized, it’s not that I’m uninspired, necessarily; rather, I think my recent decline in ideas to blog about is stemming from the fact that I have been more in tune with my Eat Right Judge Less Love More goals than I have been for a while.  It’s amazing how much creative energy had come from a lack of inner peace!

I think this shift stems from a few different changes in my life…

1) I’m a runner now — Yes, I’ve officially embraced it as one of my adjectives, now that my first 10k is less than a week away!  I love love love the feeling that comes from somewhere within me when I run, pushing me to go on – faster, even – when a cramp or tired legs scream at me to stop.  Love the feeling of fellow early morning runners (including my wonderfully devoted running partner, L!), whose dedication urges me to get out of bed in the morning when I’m feeling less than energized. I thank running for being one of the healthiest ways I’ve ever bounced back from a relationship gone wrong.  In making myself a priority, I’m feeling pretty great about other things in my life as well.  It’s amazing, the trickle-down effect taking care of yourself can have.

2) I’ve finally learned to appreciate my friends.  It seems like an obvious thing to do, appreciating your friends, but they have tended to get less of my attention as the ebb and flow of transient friends has distracted me from the people who will always be there.  Lately, though, it seems these transient folks are becoming easier to spot, as I take time to acknowledge what it is I value about my friends: non-judgmental, honest, open-minded, opinionated individuals whose primary common ground is an unshakeable love and respect for each other.

3) I’m making loving myself a priority over loving anybody else.  I spent a good portion of my last relationship unhappy, but not wanting to hurt the person who seemed so happy with me.  As I re-enter the dating world, I’m making a concerted effort to do what I WANT to do (within reason, of course!)  The results have been somewhat surprising, in terms of how UNSURPRISED people are with my actions.  I guess most people are pretty vocal about what they want and need, and so it’s no surprise to anyone when I vocalize my own wants and needs.  The idea of making decisions without my first thought always being, “but what if he…?” is a step in the right direction, I’d say!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * annanaqu says:

    Welcomeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Dear Lovely Darling Anne to the RUNNER’s WORLD. We are proud and happy to have someone of your dedication and ENJOYMENT. Plus since Zino, Laura, Steph and I all love running, you’ve joined such a great support group! … I’m looking forward to it!
    Three very fundamental and important understandings on what is supporting you and moving you forward.

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 9 months ago


Leave a Reply

